Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Corrections

State Library Resources    Electronic Journals     Statistics    Related Agencies/Organizations

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research. Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library. Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

The mission of the Connecticut Department of Correction includes the provision of  opportunities that support successful community reintegration for offenders.  An overview of the transitional programs and services provided to the offender population is available at the Department of Correction web site.  Victims of crime are able to register with Victim Services for notification of the release of offenders.

State Library Resources

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to drunk driving, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Alternatives to imprisonment
Corrections
Criminal statistics -- Connecticut
Criminals -- Rehabilitation
Imprisonment
Prison administration
Prisoners' families
Prisons
Prisons -- Connecticut
Recidivism

NEW : Criminal Justice Digital Library, a collection of links to state publications related to the various aspects of the criminal justice system including recidivism, probation, prison population and more. 

Full-text of the following sampling of publications is available through our online catalog :

Final Report, by the Governor's Sentencing and Parole Review Task Force, 2008.  Also available in paper format [CSL Call Number ConnDoc G747sen fire]

Releases from Prisons, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2008.

Comprehensive Offender Re-entry Plan, prepared by the Office of Policy and Management, Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division, 2007.

DOC Programs to Rehabilitate Inmates, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.

State of Connecticut Recidivism Study Annual Report, prepared by the Connecticut Statistical Analysis Center in conjunction with the Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division of OPM, 2007.

A Study of Reconviction Rates of Discharged Inmates from the Connecticut Department of Correction, by Stephen M. Cox, 2006.

Offender Re-entry : What is Needed to Provide Criminal Offenders with a Second Chance? : hearing before the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security of the Committee on the Judiciary, United States House of Representatives, 109th Congress, first session, November 3, 2005.
Also available in paper and/or microform format [CSL Call Number Federal Documents  Y 4.J 89/1:109-65]

Confronting Recidivism : Prisoner Re-entry Programs and a Just Future for All Americans : hearing before the Committee on Government Reform, United States House of Representatives, 109th Congress, first session, February 2, 2005.  Also available in paper and/or microform format [CSL Call Number Federal Documents Y 4.G 74/7:C 76/39]

Indian Jails : A Clarion Call for Reform : hearing before the Committee on Finance, United States Senate, 108th Congress, second session, September 21, 2004.
Also available in paper and/or microform format [CSL Call Number Federal Documents Y 4.F 49:S.HRG.108-841]

These publications are a sampling of those available in paper and/or microform format at the State Library :

Rethinking Imprisonment, by Richard Lippke, 2007.  [CSL Call Number HV8705.L56 2007]

The Prison and the Gallows : the Politics of Mass Incarceration in America, by Marie Gottschalk, 2006.  [CSL Call Number HV9471 .G67 2006]  Table of Contents available online. 

Prison Race, by Renford Reese, c2006.  [CSL Call Number HV9950.R434 2006]  Table of Contents available online.

Prisoner Reentry and the Life Course : the Role of Race and Drugs, by Daniel J. O'Connell, 2006.  [CSL Call Number HV9304 .O146 2006]  Table of Contents available online.

Private Prisons in America : A Critical Race Perspective, by Michael A. Hallett, c2006. [CSL Call Number HV9469.H256 2006]  Table of Contents available online.

All Alone in the World : Children of the Incarcerated, by Nell Bernstein, c2005. [CSL Call Number HV8886.U5 B47 2005]

 

(Top of the page)

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org where you will find full-text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library.  Our Electronic Journals page details the titles, available dates and coverage.  Titles relating to corrections include :

Corrections compendium
Corrections today
Crime and justice
Criminology and public policy
Current issues in criminal justice
Federal prisons journal
Journal of correctional education
Prison journal

 

Statistics

Prison Population Age 50 and Over by Offense, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2008.

Prison Statistics, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.

Prison Release Statistics, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.

Probation Statistics, by Christopher Reinhart, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.

Prison Overcrowding, by George Coppolo et al., Office of Legislative Research, 2003.

Connecticut Department of Correction Statistics

Corrections Statistics, compiled by the United States Department of Justice.

Prison Statistics, compiled by the United States Department of Justice.

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of public safety statistics on a variety of topics including corrections spending.

 

Related Agencies/Organizations

Connecticut Department of Correction
Includes contact information for all facilities and a database of information regarding offenders currently incarcerated.

National Corrections Reporting Program Resource Guide

Designed by the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data at the University of Michigan to provide web users with information about the National Corrections Reporting Program.  Data files are available for downloading.

Federal Bureau of Prisons
Includes a facilities locater and an inmate locater from 1982 to the present.

National Institute of Corrections
An agency within the Federal Bureau of Prisons that provides training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.
 

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 12/2008.