Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   CSL Research Resources > Statistics

 Economic Statistics

General Resources   Housing    Income and Poverty    Labor   Prices    Wagering


General Resources

Connecticut Economic Digest  The Connecticut Economic Digest is published monthly by the Department of Labor, Office of Research and the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development, Public and Government Relations Division. Its purpose is to regularly provide users with a comprehensive source for the most current, up-to-date data available on the workforce and economy of the state, within perspectives of the region and nation.

Research Data and Publications This page contains numerous links to an abundance of data collected and managed by the DECD Research Department. In addition, links to all agency created publications are available here.

Development Report Card for the States Compare the economies of all states with the annual DRC which uses 67 measures to assess economic opportunities in each state. Includes 3 indexes : economic performance, business vitality and development capacity. Connecticut results available here.

Since 2001 The Beacon Hill Institute has published its State Competitiveness Report and companion Metro Area Competitiveness Report, with more than three dozen variables assigned to eight categories, combined into a single "competitiveness index." Contains a table listing  all fifty states as well as fifty metro areas with their advantages, disadvantages and overall rank. Previous reports also available.

State of the Nation Provides various financial and economic data from throughout the federal government and other related entities with a focus on the US domestic economy. Areas of interest include general economic indicators, housing and construction, employment, manufacturing and industry, monetary statistics and economic policy. Full access to library files available through the State Library.

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of economic statistics on a variety of topics including income, gross domestic product and economic growth.

(Top of the page)

 


Housing

Housing Data Housing permits for Connecticut counties and towns; Construction Report Excel Tables; median sales prices for housing.

Foreclosure Statistics from Connecticut Judicial Department data.

 


Income and Poverty

Median Household Income for the state and selected towns released by the United States Census American Community Survey (ACS).  Additional income and poverty data for "small areas" is available at the Census web site.

Connecticut Income Data compiled by the CT Department of Economic and Community Development.  Includes per capita income, median household income and median family income by county, town, and state (2000 Census) ; per capita and median household income by town (1990 census) ; per capita income for Connecticut / New England / U.S, 1969-2004 ; poverty rate by state, 2000-2005 ; and Connecticut poverty rate by town (2000 Census).

Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation. Links to HHS Poverty Guidelines for latest and earlier years.

Poverty Status by State and Ten Large Metropolitan Areas in 2000 Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Annual Demographic Survey, March Supplement.

 

 


Labor

Labor Market Information Employment, unemployment, wages, affirmative action, workforce trends, worksites by size class. Includes retrospective data by town. From the Department of Labor, Office of Research.

Most Recent Labor Force Data Most recent Connecticut labor force data by town and Labor Market Area (LMA). For each town, number of persons in labor force; number of persons employed; number of persons unemployed; and the employment rate (%).

Safety and Health Statistics Information on workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities that occur in Connecticut. Links to Occupational Illness and Injuries and other publications.

(Top of the page)

 


Prices

Consumer Price Indexes The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

ACCRA Cost of Living Index  Measures relative price levels for consumer goods and services in participating areas. Areas included in the survey may vary from month to month.

 


Wagering

Gaming Statistics for all games, Native American casinos, gambling regulation and the lottery, from the Division of Special Revenue.

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 4/2009.