Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Juvenile Justice

State Library Resources    Electronic Journals    Statistics    Related Agencies/Organizations

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  We’d be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

Connecticut's juvenile justice system is a statewide system of juvenile courts, detention centers, private residential facilities and juvenile correctional facilities.  Post-adjudication services are provided by the Judicial Branch, Court Support Services Division and the Department of Children and Families.

State Library Resources

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to juvenile justice, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Juvenile Corrections
Juvenile Courts
Juvenile Delinquen--
Juvenile Justice
School Violence

 

NEW : Criminal Justice Digital Library, a collection of links to state publications related to the various aspects of the criminal justice system including recidivism, probation, prison population and more. 

Full-text of the following sampling of publications is available through our online catalog :

Impact of Raise the Age Legislation on Older Status Offenders, by Susan Price, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.

The Connecticut Juvenile Justice Strategic Plan : Building Toward a Better Future, facilitated by the Child Welfare League of America, 2006.

Voice, Choice & Hope : Juvenile Justice Consensus Document, Connecticut. Department of Children and Families, 2006.

Annual Report of the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice, 2004-  Also available in paper and/or microform format.  [CSL Call Number Federal Documents J 32.2:AD 9/2]

Assessing the Mental Health Status of Youth in Juvenile Justice Settings, by Gail A. Wasserman, Susan J. Ko and Larkin S. McReynolds, 2004.

Disproportionate minority confinement, 2002 update : summary, prepared by  Heidi M. Hsia, George S. Bridges and Rosalie McHale, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, [2004] Also available in paper and/or microform format. [CSL Call Number Federal Documents J 32.2:M 66/2/2004/SUMM]

Youth Violence : A Report of the Surgeon General, United States Public Health Service, 2001.  Also available in paper and/or microform format.
[CSL Call Number Federal Documents HE 20.2:V 81]

These publications are a sampling of those available in paper and/or microform format at the State Library :

School Crime and Juvenile Justice, by Richard Lawrence, 2007.  [CSL Call Number LB3013.3 .L38 2006]  
Table of Contents available online.

Youth Justice : Ideas, Policy, Practice, by Roger Smith, 2007.  [CSL Call Number HV9145.A5 S65 2007]

Handbook of children, culture, and violence, ed. by Nancy E. Dowd, Dorothy G. Singer and Robin Fretwell Wilson, 2006.  [CSL Call Number HQ784.V55 H34 2006]
Table of Contents available online.

Judging Children as Children : A Proposal for a Juvenile Justice System, by Michael A. Corriero, 2006.  [CSL Call Number KF9779 .C67 2006] 

Legislation :

Acts Affecting Children, by Susan Price, Office of Legislative Research, 2007.
Brief highlights of public and special acts affecting children enacted during the 2007 Regular and June Special sessions through December 5, 2007.

Children, by Susan Price, Office of Legislative Research, 2006.
Brief highlights of public and special acts affecting children enacted during the 2006 regular session.

Children, by Ryan O’Neil, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.
Brief highlights of public acts passed during the 2005 regular and special sessions.

2004 Acts Affecting Children, by Judith Lohman, Soncia Coleman and Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2004.

Juvenile Justice Legislation, 2001 to 2003, Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2003.

Juvenile Justice Laws Passed During the Last 20 Years, by George Coppolo, Office of Legislative Research, 2000.
Includes legislation enacted by the Connecticut General Assembly, 1979-2000.

(Top of the page)

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org where you will find full-text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library.  Our Electronic Journals page details the titles, available dates and coverage.  Titles relating to juvenile justice include :

Crime and delinquency
Juvenile justice 
Journal of research in crime and delinquency
Criminology & public policy
 
Current issues in criminal justice 
Juvenile & family court journal
Juvenile court judges journal

Juvenile justice

 

 

Statistics

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Includes statistics for a variety of topics related to juvenile justice.

The Statistical Briefing Book
Designed for easy access to basic statistical information on juvenile offending, victimization of juveniles, and involvement of youth in the juvenile justice system.   Includes
Juvenile Court Statistics, with updated data to 2004. 

Statistical Overview of cases handled by the Connecticut Judicial System, including delinquency and youth in crisis cases.

 

Related Agencies/Organizations

Annie E. Casey Foundation

Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut
A subsidiary of the Children’s Fund of Connecticut, established in 1992.  Now available at the Web site : A RISING TIDE: Use of Emergency Departments for Mental Health Care for Connecticut's Children, January 2007.

Connecticut Department of Children and Families
View the report on juvenile justice reform, in response to Governor Rell’s decision to close the Connecticut Juvenile Training School by 2008.

Juvenile Justice and Youth Development
An extensive compilation of information including an overview of the juvenile justice system in Connecticut

National Center for State Courts
Extensive statewide information available on a wide variety of issues related to juvenile justice.

National Youth Gang Center
Includes a variety of youth gang surveys and other publications by the Center.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Questions and answers, with links to reports and publications, offered by the U.S. Office of Justice Programs.

Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention
A component of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs which provides national leadership, coordination and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 11/2008.