Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit

State Library Resources    Electronic Journals    Statistics    Related Agencies/Organizations

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  We’d be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or email us at isref@cslib.org.

The new Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit, also known as Medicare RX (formerly Medicare Part D), began on January 1, 2006. Everyone with Medicare, regardless of income, health status, or prescription drug usage, now has access to prescription drug coverage.  The Medicare website provides complete information about how to choose a plan, comparisons of state plans that are available, etc.  The Connecticut Department of Social Services is working to coordinate existing state assistance programs with the Medicare drug benefit.

State Library Resources

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Medicare prescription drug benefit, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Medicare
Managed Care Plans

 

 

Full-text of the following sampling of publications is available through our online catalog :

Choosing a Medigap Policy: a Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare, published annually by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage : "Choosing the Plan That's Right for You!", an enrollment guide produced by the CHOICES Program, 2006.

ConnPACE and Medicare Part D Information, by Helga Niesz, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

Implementing the Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit and Medicare Advantage Program, Perspectives on the Proposed Rules, hearing before the Committee on Finance, United States Senate, September 14, 2004.
Also available in paper and/or microform format.  [CSL Call Number Federal Documents Y 4.F 49: S. Hrg. 108-767]

These publications are a sampling of those available in paper and/or microform format at the State Library :

The Medicare Part D Drug Program; Making the Most of the Benefit. Jack E. Fincham. 2007. [CSL Call Number RA412.3 .F56 2007]

A New Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit, is it Good for Seniors?, hearing before the Subcommittee on Human Rights and Wellness of the Committee on Government Reform, United States House of Representatives, July 17, 2003. [CSL Call Number Federal Documents Y 4.G74/7:M 46/29]

(Top of the page)

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access www.iconn.org where you’ll find full text journal and newspaper articles, and an entire section devoted to Health and Wellness research. 

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public terminals at the State Library.  Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject.  Pertinent titles with information on the prescription drug benefit include :

Drug Topics
Geriatrics
Kiplinger’s Retirement Report
Managed Healthcare Executive

 

Statistics

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services provides statistics, trends, and reports.

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of health statistics on a variety of topics including health insurance coverage.

 

(Top of the page)

Related Agencies/Organizations

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons) describes how the plan will work, how to choose a plan, provides State Fact sheets and the latest consumer news.  

The Aging Services Division of the Connecticut Department of Social Services describes programs and services that serve older adults in Connecticut , including prescription options. 

The Connecticut Attorney General’s Prescription Page compares the cost of the most commonly prescribed drugs at pharmacies statewide.  Includes an interactive searchable database of pharmacies, towns and prescription drug prices.

The Center for Medicare Advocacy, founded in 1986, is a national non-partisan education and advocacy organization that works to increase access to comprehensive Medicare coverage and excellent health care for elders and people with disabilities by providing analysis, education, and advocacy.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the Department of Health and Human Services provides information, regulations, and research.

Eldercare Locator, Department of Health and Human Services.
The Locator links older Americans and their caregivers who need assistance with state and local area agencies on aging that serve older adults. 

The Social Security Administration sponsors a page on Help with Prescription Drug Costs.

The Senior Resources Agency on Aging provides information and services to the aging population in Connecticut .

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 4/2009.